School Director awarded MBE

A month on from being named the Times Educational Supplement (TES) Headteacher of the Year 2020, Evelyn Forde, a Director at Wolverhampton Grammar School, has been awarded an MBE in the New Year’s Honours List. The award has been made in recognition of Evelyn’s services to Education in the London Borough of Barnet, where she is Headteacher of Copthall School, a highly regarded girls’ 11-18 academy with a comprehensive and culturally diverse intake. Evelyn is also a member of the Council of the Association of School and College Leaders (ASCL), for which she has a key role in championing and mentoring BAME leaders in education.

“I am deeply humbled and absolutely thrilled to be awarded an MBE for just doing a job that I love,” said Evelyn. “I hope this award sends out important messages to the next generation and inspires girls and children from minority backgrounds to believe that they can make a difference too. My motto for young people, and what I tell them every day, is hard work and self-belief makes impossible futures, possible. Our role as educators is to ensure all our students never forget this.”

Commenting on the news, Head of Wolverhampton Grammar School, Alex Frazer said: “At WGS, we are overjoyed for Evelyn and send her our warmest congratulations for this very exciting award, which she richly deserves for her inspirational leadership and dedication to her students and staff at Copthall School. We are incredibly lucky that she has found time in her busy schedule to join WGS as a Director and we are grateful for her expertise, advice and engagement.”

James Sage, Chair of the Board of Directors at Wolverhampton Grammar School added: “I am delighted to be congratulating Evelyn again, in such a short space of time, on being recognised at the highest level for her exceptional work in education. It is a true honour to be working with her as a member of the WGS Board.”

Wolverhampton Grammar School is governed by a Board of Directors, who are supported by a Council and Board of Trustees. Our Directors come from a broad range of industries, sectors and backgrounds and give of their time and expertise on a purely voluntary basis. They are a team of highly dedicated and experienced individuals whose determination to deliver outstanding educational opportunities to our students is second to none.